HOMEWARD
BOUND

A seven-part online series with Dougald Hine

STARTS WEEK OF 10 MAY 2021

MONDAY GROUP — 20.15 CEST • 19.15 BST • 14.15 EDT • 11.15 PDT
TUESDAY GROUP — 11.15 CEST • 10.15 BST • 14.45 IST • 19.15 AEST

This series is now underway. Sign up to our school newsletter for announcements about future series and events.

Homeward Bound is an invitation to a journey. It’s a chance to get to know our school, to learn about the ideas and examples that inspire us, and to meet others who are drawn to the work of regrowing a living culture – or just curious about what that could mean.

What could it mean to be Homeward Bound?

The chances are that you were born into a culture addicted to the upward sweeping projections of growth, development and progress: history as an exponential curve, building towards the take-off of the rocket ships. Half a century after the moon landings, the billionaires of Silicon Valley are still set on claiming our destiny among the stars.

Well, perhaps you have your doubts about this direction of travel. I know I did already as a teenager – though it took years to name those doubts in a way that made sense to anyone, and longer still to start piecing together another map of where we find ourselves, what other paths might be worth taking.

In Homeward Bound, I want to retrace that journey: to revisit the encounters that helped me find my bearings, back before the Dark Mountain manifesto or the other writings and projects for which I have been responsible. This is also a way of introducing you to the wider weave of conversation and activity of which this school is a part.

It touches on so much, the question of where we are bound: from how we face what we know and fear about a changing climate, to the ways our lives are formed by schooling systems, and the role of the activities that sometimes go under the name of art. And it takes us to the encounter with mortality: our common destination, our true north, whose force has pulled the human world so far off its envisaged course since the start of the pandemic.

I teach by telling stories. I’ll talk about the people whose example – as thinkers, artists, activists, friends – has shaped the way I see the world and shown me what might be worth doing with a life in times like these. I’ll share the back-of-an-envelope models that I rely on in bringing new projects and collaborations into being. You won’t come away with a set of answers, but I trust that together we’ll find some clues that you can take onwards from this time together.

So join me over seven weekly gatherings, and let’s use this time of collective disorientation to enquire together into where we thought we were going.

Dougald Hine

This series is now underway. Sign up to our school newsletter for announcements about future series and events.

“Dougald is an artist of the liminal. His journey has led him to extraordinary places, people and perspectives. In Homeward Bound, he takes you through mythic territory, drawing on stories and symbols from his life, to help you find your own. A deeply nourishing experience that will leave you enriched and sensitised to the mythic in your own journey.”

PHOEBE TICKELL
Founder of moral imaginations

“When I embarked on Homeward Bound, I was at a personal and professional crossroads. I hadn’t expected such an equally philosophical and practical experience – and I never would have guessed where home actually was, or been able to make my way there. But thank fuck I did, for the world looks very different now and it’s a journey I don’t think I’ll ever forget.”

SAM CONNIFF
AUTHOR OF BE MORE PIRATE & CREATOR OF THE UNCERTAINTY EXPERTS

“It was like we were all sketching in charcoal every week, making things bolder, or darker, rubbing them out and redrawing them, until, by the last session, some image emerged from all our overlapping lines. Many of us went off and began to draw parts of our lives differently using the shapes we found together. Forms we could never have imagined on our own.”

CAROLINE ROSS
Artist & Tai Chi teacher

How this series will work

We meet over Zoom for a 75-minute session each week.

There will be two groups: one that meets on a Monday evening (Swedish time), starting on 10 May, and the other on a Tuesday morning, starting on 11 May.

The session opens with fifteen minutes to land together as a group. Then Dougald opens the teaching with a talk on the week’s theme, followed by a period for reflection, questions and discussion.

At the end of each week’s session, following a short break, you are welcome to join us for the afterparty – this is a chance to hang out and meet each other, to see what transpires.

A video of the taught part of each session will be posted within a day or two, and these will be available for participants to view for three months after the course.

At the end of the series, when we have had the chance to get to know each other a little better, there will be an invitation to join an ongoing community hosted by Anna and Dougald.

Places are limited, so register now to secure your place.

Dougald Hine is one half of a school called HOME.

His writing includes Uncivilisation: The Dark Mountain Manifesto (with Paul Kingsnorth), The Crossing of Two Lines (with Performing Pictures), Notes From Underground (an essay series for Bella Caledonia) and Walking in the Void (with Baldwin & Guggisberg).

He has been a founder of a series of organisations including the Dark Mountain Project, Spacemakers and School of Everything. He is currently presenting The Great Humbling podcast with Ed Gillespie.

Originally from the north-east of England, since 2012 he has been settled in central Sweden where he lives with his partner Anna Björkman, the other half of this school.