HOMEWARD
BOUND LIVE

A seven-part online series with Dougald Hine

STARTS 9 & 10 NOVEMBER 2021

TUESDAY GROUP — 10.15 CET • 9.15 GMT • 14.45 IST • 20.15 AEDT
Wednesday GROUP — 20.15 CET • 19.15 GMT • 14.15 EST • 11.15 PST • 8.15 NZDT

£85, €100 or $120

If your circumstances mean that the registration fee would be an obstacle, please contact us at info@aschoolcalledhome.org to receive a discounted rate.

Homeward Bound is an invitation to a journey. It’s a chance to get to know our school, to learn about the ideas and examples that inspire us, and to meet others who are drawn to the work of regrowing a living culture – or just curious about what that could mean.

What could it mean to be Homeward Bound?

The chances are that you were born into a culture addicted to the upward sweeping projections of growth, development and progress: history as an exponential curve, building towards the take-off of the rocket ships. Half a century after the moon landings, the billionaires of Silicon Valley are still set on claiming our destiny among the stars.

Well, perhaps you have your doubts about this direction of travel. I know I did already as a teenager – though it took years to name those doubts in a way that made sense to anyone, and longer still to start piecing together another map of where we find ourselves, what other paths might be worth taking.

In Homeward Bound, I want to retrace that journey: to revisit the encounters that helped me find my bearings, back before the Dark Mountain manifesto or the other writings and projects for which I have been responsible. This is also a way of introducing you to the wider weave of conversation and activity of which this school is a part.

It touches on so much, the question of where we are bound: from how we face what we know and fear about a changing climate, to the ways our lives are formed by schooling systems, and the role of the activities that sometimes go under the name of art. And it takes us to the encounter with mortality: our common destination, our true north, whose force has pulled the human world so far off its envisaged course in the time of the pandemic.

I teach by telling stories. I’ll talk about the people whose example – as thinkers, artists, activists, friends – has shaped the way I see the world and shown me what might be worth doing with a life in times like these. I’ll share the back-of-an-envelope models that I rely on in bringing new projects and collaborations into being. You won’t come away with a set of answers, but I trust that we’ll find some clues that you can take onwards from this time together.

So join me over seven weekly gatherings, and let’s use this time of collective disorientation to enquire into where we thought we were going.

Dougald Hine

£85, €100 or $120

If your circumstances mean that the registration fee would be an obstacle, please contact us at info@aschoolcalledhome.org to receive a discounted rate.

“Dougald is an artist of the liminal. His journey has led him to extraordinary places, people and perspectives. In Homeward Bound, he takes you through mythic territory, drawing on stories and symbols from his life, to help you find your own. A deeply nourishing experience that will leave you enriched and sensitised to the mythic in your own journey.”

PHOEBE TICKELL
Founder of moral imaginations

“As a training professional, I am pretty blasé about courses. They rarely get me excited. This one, though, was insanely great. Not only did I meet wonderful people with whom I still hang out, it also stacked my bedside table so high with books that I’m still reading them.”

A.S.

“To a backdrop of crumbling facades and crisis responses, I found myself breathing a sigh of relief as we set ourselves adrift each week. A year later and I haven’t reached the shore, but there are other storm lanterns out there still, bobbing along in the darkness.”

IAN NESBITT
Artist

“It was like we were all sketching in charcoal every week, making things bolder, or darker, rubbing them out and redrawing them, until, by the last session, some image emerged from all our overlapping lines. Many of us went off and began to draw parts of our lives differently using the shapes we found together. Forms we could never have imagined on our own.”

CAROLINE ROSS
Artist & Tai Chi teacher

How this series will work

We meet over Zoom for a 75-minute session each week.

There will be two groups: one that meets on a Tuesday morning (Swedish time), starting on 9 November, and the other on a Wednesday evening, starting on 10 November.

A typical session will start with fifteen minutes to land together as a group. Then Dougald opens the teaching with a talk on the week’s theme, followed by a period for reflection, questions and discussion.

At the end of each week’s teaching session, following a short break, you are welcome to join us for the afterparty – this is a chance to hang out and meet each other, to see what transpires.

A video of the teaching session will be posted within a day or two, and these will be available for participants to view for three months after the course.

At the end of the series, when we have had the chance to get to know each other a little better, there will be an invitation to join an ongoing community hosted by Anna and Dougald.

Places are limited, so register now to secure your place.

Dougald Hine is one half of a school called HOME.

His writing includes Uncivilisation: The Dark Mountain Manifesto (with Paul Kingsnorth), The Crossing of Two Lines (with Performing Pictures), Notes From Underground (an essay series for Bella Caledonia) and Walking in the Void (with Baldwin & Guggisberg).

He has been a founder of a series of organisations including the Dark Mountain Project, Spacemakers and School of Everything. He is currently presenting The Great Humbling podcast with Ed Gillespie.

Originally from the north-east of England, since 2012 he has been settled in central Sweden where he lives with his partner Anna Björkman, the other half of this school.